Report on swimclub session #14?

I think it’s session 14, last week I was running the Green Belt Relay  www.greenbeltrelay.org and I don’t think anyone went to swimclub. I could be wrong….

Anyway, today there was only Danny and I and we were both suffering from a case of CBA, eventually we managed to drag our lazy butts out of Costa (not that lazy really, we did do bptt first) and down to the pool.

We were glad we did for several reasons. Firstly we didn’t swim last week, and won’t swim next week because it’s my birthday and we’re going to the Epsom Derby, and so did not want to get into  too much of a habit of not going.

Secondly, it’s triathlon day on Monday, and I wanted to get one last practice in. More importantly, Nicola has kindly lent me her very cool pirate kit for the tri and she said it would be a good idea to try it out in the pool first. So I did and I really liked it. Very comfy and didn’t look too silly. Probably cos it’s not a ‘onesie’ as Orlando described trisuits this morning. This one has two parts!

Thirdly it was a strange experience in the pool today! There was something wrong with their technical equipment so the water was 33 degrees instead of the usual 28. It was actually warmer than the baby pool, quite weird to swim in but very good for stopping for a chat after a few lengths!

Fourthly, we felt better for going than we would have done if we’d missed it, same as every exercise session that you don’t particularly feel like doing. A combination of endorphins, adrenalin and smugness.

Not a massive amount of lengths were swum today, about 36 each, no cake (except the ones in Costa) but nevertheless a successful swimclub.

5 Responses to “Report on swimclub session #14?”

  1. David Rowe Says:

    Excellent report. Sorry we missed it. I’ll try and get updates for the other two missing swim club sessions added soon!

  2. Danny Says:

    I swam last week!

  3. Danny Says:

    Oh, and I also snuck in 40 lengths – I’m getting a LOT better at staying under water with my face.

  4. swimkirsty Says:

    Danny Says:

    May 27th, 2007 at 4:35 pm
    I swam last week!

    I didn’t know – nobody ghost-wrote a report in my absence.

  5. Danny Says:

    I have the best attendance record and therefore the most points – I’m the Tom Morgan of Swim Club you know.

Leave a comment