report on swim club sessions #15,16 and 17!

Three for the price of one today – sorry about the very long gap but other things seem to have interfered with both swimming and blogging about it. The swimming quality definitely deteriorated over the last few weeks – hope the blogging is up to standard!

Session 15 was just me after 2 weeks with no swimming. I just about struggled through 36 lengths, and the two lengths of front crawl I threw in just about finished me off. It’s scary how quickly you lose fitness for different sports. 

Session 16 was me, Orlando and Danny; I managed 40 lengths this time, including four lengths of front crawl! I was still not in the zone at all. I think Danny did about the same, plus some treading water, and he spent half the bptt bbq that afternoon asleep! Orlando started off well but then got a cramp in his leg and had to be heroically rescued by Danny as the lifeguard couldn’t really be bothered.

Session 17 went much better. David and Sharon were back from their holiday and joined me and Danny. David swam like a man on a mission, but then is he apparantly half man half machine. Sharon thought she would only manage 20 lengths, but did at least 30, if not 36. I was trying to do some research into whether I can possibly beat Danny in the aquathlon at Club La Sexy. However as he refused to race me over 200 metres I am still not sure. I don’t think it’s very likely but I will have fun trying! Anyway he stayed in the pool after the rest of us for some secret extra training.

I did 52 lengths and they felt easier than last week’s 40. And included at least 8 lengths of front crawl. Phew.

No tea and cake this week, so still not back to a traditional session of swimclub. Ah well, maybe next week….

Leave a comment